yummy,yummy orange bread

A few days ago I was browsing tastykitchen.com, not really looking for anything in particular, just browsing! I was looking under breads because I really love making bread; yeast breads, quick breads, rolls, you name it I’ve got it wrapped in foil or in a freezer bag in my freezer. I seriously might have a problem. 😉 My husband, Michael, spotted this recipe and told me I probably needed to try it. I did and man is it delicious!! It has seriously yummy orange taste. Orange zest and fresh squeezed juice are in the batter then its topped with an OJ and sugar glace THEN topped with an OJ and powdered sugar glaze. Serious yummy good stuff!!! The recipe was pretty simple, only thing that took a little time was juicing the 4 oranges. Not gonna lie, my hands hurt just a tad when I was done, but oh was it worth it! 

Orange Bread

courtesy of shugarysweets.com 

Ingredients

  • 4 whole Oranges, Zested And Juiced, Divided
  • 2 sticks Butter, Softened
  • 2-½ cups Granulated Sugar, Divided
  • 4 whole Eggs, Room Temperature
  • 3 cups Flour
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • ž cups Vanilla Yogurt, Room Temperature
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 2 cups Powdered Sugar

Zest the oranges and put aside. Juice the oranges (should be about 1 cup of juice). Set aside.

Cream butter and 2 cups granulated sugar in a mixer for 5 minutes. On medium speed, beat in eggs, one at a time. Add all of the orange zest.In large bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, soda, and salt. In another bowl, mix Âź cup fresh orange juice, yogurt and vanilla extract. Add flour and yogurt mixtures alternately to the mixer, in about 3 additions.

Pour into two greased loaf pans. Bake in a 350ÂşF oven for 45 minutes to one hour.

While bread is baking, cook remaining ½ cup granulated sugar with ½ cup orange juice on low until sugar dissolves.Cool cakes ten minutes in the pan. Remove from the pans to a wire rack. Spoon sugar syrup over the cakes. Cool completely.

To glaze, mix the powdered sugar with the remaining orange juice (about 1/4 cup) with a whisk. Pour over the cake and allow to dry. Store in the refrigerator or freeze.

I usually make one larger loaf and then divide the others into mini loafs, wrap them in foil and stick them in the freezer. I love stocking my freezer with goodies for friends when they come over, when I need a quick gift, or when I need a slice of orange bread late at night. 🙂  

this is right out of the oven...i seriously could've eaten half a loaf right then...but just wait!

this is the finished product! can't even describe the way our kitchen smells right now!

Leave a Reply

