light zucchini bread

Do you have this problem in your garden?? And this was taken a few weeks ago…you should see it now!! So yes, I have an abundance of zucchini! We love sauteing them and grilling them. But today I saw two perfect zucchinis on the windowsill and they were just begging me to put them in a sweet bread. 🙂 So I obliged them.

This recipe comes from one of those old church cookbooks. You know what I’m talking about don’t you? They are chock full of classic, made from scratch dishes! This recipe was titled light zucchini bread. It calls for a smaller amount of oil and sugar than I’ve seen in most recipes. I’m sure you could get creative and make it even more light-er! It was quick too! Probably took me no more than 15 minutes to whip it all up!

Here’s the good stuff…

Light Zucchini Bread

3 eggs 

3/4 c. vegetable oil

1 1/2 c. sugar

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla  

2 c. grated zucchini ( I had two medium sized zucchinis and they were just right for 2 cups)

2 1/2 c. flour

3/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 c. coarsely chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350. Beat eggs; add oil, sugar and beat well. Add vanilla. Mix dry ingredients together. Add zucchini and walnuts to wet ingredients. Mix dry and wet ingredients until incorporated. Pour into desired loaf pans, bake for 35 minutes. 

I ended up making 3 medium loaf pans, 2 smaller loaf pans, (don’t you love my precise measurements 🙂 )and 2 mini loaf pans for some very important taste testing. In one of the mini loafs I added a handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and the other I added a sprinkling of cinnamon sugar. They were both delightful! I liked the chocolate chips, it was a nice surprise inside! And of course I love anything with a little cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top. 🙂 Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

