mary, mary, quite contrary

My husband and I bought our first house in May of last year. He moved in right away and I lived with friends until we got married in October. πŸ™‚ The backyard is great! In the very back there was the random fence that didn’t connect to anything so I decided I wanted to put a garden there!

the very beginning

In January of this year I started cleaning out the space. It was lots of raking, lots of digging, lots of tilling. I didn’t have it quite ready when I wanted but eventually it was done! Β We pulled up part of the fence and made it an L-shape to give more room and provide some plants with more sunlight. (when I say we, I mean my husband πŸ˜‰ ) I mapped everything out on graph paper, purchased seeds, planted, watered…and waited!!

looking a little bit more like a garden

L-shaped with small rock patio

It has really been fun!! For my first garden I think I’ve had pretty good success. Everything has turned out really well! The only thing that didn’t work out were my onions, I believe I planted them way too late and they got too hot to grow! 😦 It’s just a lesson learned for next year!

Here is a list of all that I planted:

  • 2 big boy tomatoes
  • 1 roma tomatoes
  • yukon gold potatoes
  • blackberries
  • blueberries…I had one. The birds have had the rest 😦
  • squash
  • zucchini
  • basil, cilantro, rosemary, mint
  • jalapenos and serranos
  • strawberries
  • watermelon
  • green beans
  • lettuce
  • carrots
And here are a few more pics from the very beginning!! Will post more updated ones later.

lil baby squash and zucchini

green beans

strawberries!
tomatoes and potatoes

Leave a Reply

