Banana Bread with Dark Chocolate and Pecans

I am SO not a fan of bananas but I am a huge fan of banana bread, go figure! A banana bread with dark chocolate and pecans? Sign me up!

DSC_0174.jpg

This was a really great banana bread. I loved the crunchy pecans and the melty chocolate in every few bites were delicious.

DSC_0147

* I did 1 cup all-purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour but you can do 2 cups of all-purpose.*

Ingredients:

recipe adapted from abitchinkitchen.blogspot.com

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar (can do up to 1 cup, I did 3/4 because my bananas were VERY ripe and VERY sweet already)

2 eggs, room temperature

3 mashed ripe bananas

4 tablespoons buttermilk

1 tablespoon pure vanilla

1 cup dark chocolate chips

1 cup chopped pecans

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease loaf pan(s) and set aside. I did 3 6×3 pans , you can also do one 9X5.
In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until very pale in color. Add in eggs one at a time, and beat between each addition for 1 minute. Scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl, and beat in mashed bananas, vanilla, and buttermilk until fully incorporated.
Add in the flour mixture and slowly mix in until just combined. Fold in pecans and chocolate with a rubber spatula. Pour the mixture into the prepared loaf pan(s). For my 3 smaller pans I did 30 minutes. For a 9×5 bake for 45-65 minutes, until a wooden skewer inserted in the center comes out clean.
Cool bread in pan for 10 minutes before inverting on a wire rack to cool completely.
DSC_0173